Call for applications from PhD students – CBSS Summer School 2017

summer uni 2017 This year’s CBSS Summer University will take place at Södertörn University (Sweden) and at the University of Gdansk in cooperation with the European Solidarity Centre in Gdansk (Poland) at 21 June – 1 July 2017.

Doctoral students from the Baltic Sea Region and beyond conducting their studies or research in humanities or social sciences, are welcome to apply for the few remaining places by submitting a proof of their PhD-program admission/enrolment and a statement of intent (300-500 words) to as soon as possible.

The Summer School “Identities and Cultural Memory of East and West in the Baltic Sea Region” aims to enhance the understanding of the impact of cultural memory and its institutionalization on contemporary discourse in the Baltic Sea Region. Seminars on the cultural memory as a scholarly field and on narratives of ‘East’ and ‘West’ will be offered alongside discussions on identity and (re-)construction of memory of places and architectural sites: how does the memory and the history of a certain place or space serve to form a cultural identity? How does memory gives us an understanding of culture as such?

During the courses,  a wide variety of academic approaches on how to learn about the interplay between the geographical position of the region and its cultural memory will be presented. In particular,  the way that cultural, geographical and political maps and discourses that discerned and separated Eastern from Western Europe will be analysed and their effects on the history and present of the Baltic Sea Region be elaborated.

The CBSS Summer School will feature lecturers and keynote speakers from Södertörn (Stockholm), Gdańsk and other universities and will be completed by study trips and guided tours.

Find more information here. 

The Summer School is organized by the Södertörn University’s Centre for Baltic and East European Studies (CBEES) and its School of Culture and Education (Sweden) in partnership with the University of Gdansk,  the European Solidarity Centre in Gdansk (Poland), the University of Greifswald (Germany), Saint Petersburg University of Economics (UNECON) (Russia), the University of Tartu (Estonia) and Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunas (Lithuania) and is supported by the Council of the Baltic Sea States.