CBSS Presidencies

Presidency of the Council of the Baltic Sea States

The Council Presidency rotates between the eleven Member States on an annual basis. Each Presidency lays down a set of specific priorities to guide the works of the Council for the Presidency year. The 2016 – 2017 CBSS Presidency is held by Iceland – Please click here for more information on the Icelandic Presidency.

Please click here to get to the Summits and Council Ministerial documents

Past CBSS Presidencies

Polish Presidency 2015 - 2016

The Polish Presidency of the CBSS for the period 2015 – 2016 began on 1 July 2015. During its presidency of the Council of the Baltic Sea States, Poland focuses on areas of cooperation, which are in line with the three long-term CBSS priorities agreed in June 2014: Regional Identity, Sustainable & Prosperous Region, Safe & Secure Region.

Click here for more information about the Polish Presidency.

Estonian Presidency 2014 - 2015

The Estonian Presidency of the CBSS for the period 2014 – 2015 began on 1 July 2014. Following the new guiding documents approved at the culmination of the Finnish Presidency – Decision by the Council of the Baltic Sea States on a review of the CBSS long term priorities & Declaration of the Council of the Baltic Sea States on the implementation of the Vilnius Declaration  A Vision for the Baltic Sea Region by 2020, the Estonian presidency has been particularly committed to the practical implementation of the three renewed CBSS long- term priorities ‘Regional Identity’, ‘Sustainable & Prosperous Region’, and ‘Safe & Secure Region´.

Click here for more information about the Estonian Presidency.

Finnish Presidency 2013 - 2014

The Finnish Presidency of the CBSS for the period 2013-2014 began on 1 July 2013. Besides continuation of the major initiatives undertaken by the Russian Presidency, the Finnish Presidency is putting particular stress on working on issues related to maritime policy, civil protection and people to people contacts. The main event of the Finnish Presidency is the CBSS Summit, to be held in Turku in June 2014.

Click here for more information on the Finnish Presidency.

Russian Presidency 2012 - 2013

The Russian Presidency of the CBSS for the period 2012-2013 began on 1 July 2012. The Russian Presidency of the CBSS continued the work on the theme of modernization and innovation. The development of PPP practices placed special emphasis on energy cooperation, youth policy, and the countering of the trend spread of radicalism and extremism.

Click here for more information on the Russian Presidency.

German Presidency 2011 - 2012

The German Presidency of the CBSS for the years 2011-2012 began on 1 July 2011 The German Presidency of the Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS) coincided with the 20th anniversary of the Council and of numerous other fora for cooperation in the Baltic Sea Region. Over this time, the Council has done a great deal towards achieving the aim it set itself: “to recreate a genuine democratic community around the Baltic Sea”. The Baltic Sea Sates Summit on 30/31 May 2012 provided an opportunity to acknowledge these developments. The German Presidency was committed to the decisions of the 2008 Baltic Sea States Summit in Riga on the reform of the Council and of the 2010 Baltic Sea States Summit in Vilnius on “Vision 2020 for the Baltic Sea Region”. It was determined to make progress on the five agreed long-term priorities:

  • economic development,
  • energy,
  • environment and sustainability,
  • education and culture,
  • civil security and the human dimension

Norwegian Presidency 2010 - 2011

The Norwegian Presidency of the CBSS for the year 2010-2011 was initiated on the 1 July 2010. The Norwegian Presidency had three specific priorities:

  •  Maritime policy
  • Fight against trafficking in human beings
  • Further development of the CBSS as an organization to become more efficient, relevant and operative.

Shipping and related maritime activities are most central for the economic development of the region. There are also several negative environmental effects and challenges to be met: air emissions, discharge of oil and other waste and introduction of organisms through ballast water. The Norwegian Presidency wade use of the CBSS Expert Group on Maritime Policy to develop the sector and to meet the challenges. The Norwegian Presidency continued to implement the strategy and project activities that had been set for 2010 and developed a strategy for 2011 based on further enhancing cooperation between law enforcement and the civil society. The CBSS Task Force against Trafficking in Human Beings was most central in this work. The Norwegian Presidency continued to work for a restructuring of the secretariat, further efficiency of the organization and to seek consensus among all members in building a project portfolio with other actors.

Lithuanian Presidency 2009 - 2010

Danish Presidency 2008 - 2009

Latvian Presidency 2007 - 2008

Swedish Presidency 2006 - 2007

Icelandic Presidency 2005 - 2006

Polish Presidency 2004 - 2005

Estonian Presidency 2003 - 2004

Finnish Presidency 2002 - 2003

Russian Presidency 2001 - 2002

German Presidency 2000 - 2001

Norwegian Presidency 1999 - 2000

Lithuanian Presidency 1998 - 1999

Danish Presidency 1997 - 1998

Latvian Presidency 1996 - 1997

Swedish Presidency 1995 - 1996

Polish Presidency 1994 - 1995

Estonian Presidency 1993 - 1994

Finnish Presidency 1992 - 1993