cbss.org

European Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR)

The European Union Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR) is the first Macro-regional Strategy in Europe. The Strategy was approved by the European Council in 2009 following a communication from the European Commission. The Strategy is divided into three objectives, which represent the three key challenges of the Strategy: saving the sea, connecting the region and increasing prosperity. Each objective relates to a wide range of policies and has an impact on the other objectives.

Since the adoption of the European Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region and the according Action Plan interaction with the various facets and levels of the Strategy actions have grown – this is especially noticeable since the latest revision of the Action Plan in February 2013. Post-revision, the CBSS broadened its interaction from co-coordinating a Priority Area focused on Civil Contingencies (previously PA14, now PA Secure) to also taking on a formal role as co-coordinator of the two Horizontal ActionsNeighbours and Climate (former ‘Sustainable’).

The CBSS as an organization has also noted the developments of affiliated inter-governmental networks of the CBSS increased engagement with the Strategy – such as VASAB co-coordinating the Horizontal Action Spatial jointly with CBSS Strategic partner HELCOM as well as the direct engagement of ARS Baltica alongside the Baltic Region Heritage Committee in PA Culture through various flagships.

The CBSS Secretariat has taken on the following roles:

Policy Area Co-coordinator for PA Secure

Senior Adviser,  Janusz Gaciarz, +46 8 440 19 26 janusz.gaciarz@cbss.org
Project Officer, Andriy Martynenko, andriy.martynenko@cbss.org
Policy Officer, Nina Jernberg, nina.jernberg@cbss.org

Horizontal Action Co-leader for HA Neighbours

Senior Adviser Daria Akhutina, +46 8 440 1936, daria.akhutina@cbss.org

Horizontal Action Leader for HA Climate

Senior Adviser, Ms Krista Kampus, +46 8 440 1930, krista.kampus@cbss.org
Policy Officer, Mr Valdur Lahtvee, +46 8 440 19 37, valdur.lahtvee@cbss.org

 
Font Resize