basrecIn 1998 the energy ministers of the Baltic Sea Region and the European Commission initiated an energy cooperation; the Baltic Sea Region Energy Cooperation – BASREC. BASREC supports the development of competitive, efficient and well-functioning energy markets to promote sustainable growth, security and prosperity in the region. BASREC pursues energy efficiency and renewable energy measures as well as cleantech solutions in order to support green growth. BASREC comprises of five Nordic and three Baltic countries, Germany, Poland, Russia and the European Commission.



BASREC is a ministerial process with a mandate for a three-year period. Ministerial meetings are held on demand, at least once in the third year towards the end of the three-year period. The presidency rotates between the member countries from 1 July to 30 June the following year. BASREC is under the umbrella of the Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS) and covers the issues of energy and energy-related climate policy in the region. At the ministerial meetings the ministers for energy adopt a communiqué defining the exact fields of activity which the energy cooperation will pursue until the next ministerial meeting. The Group of Senior Energy Officials (GSEO) is the body responsible for implementing the decisions and recommendations made by the ministers for energy at the ministerial meetings. The presidency of BASREC carries out the daily work and has a secretarial function. The presidency country is responsible for financing a secretarial function during its presidency. The Executive Committee (ExCom) assists the presidency in its work, ensuring continuity in the work during the presidency. ExCom consists of the GSEO members from the presidencies for the three-year period between the ministerial meetings.

To read more on BASREC go here.